January 19, 2010

  • It has been a mostly good week, maybe because Craig had a few days off and is starting his 2-week rotation onto the day shift tomorrow.  I’ve had a few days to work on stuff myself, without kids around, and have ONE! FULL! DAY! of being in the house by myself until I pick the kids up from school.  Whoa.

    So, last week? Maybe?  I got the idea that it would be great if we could provide remote support to people – we had the means to do it, and if we signed up enough people, it would pay for the service.  If we signed up a few more, we could make some money.

    That was last week.

    We are now making extra money.  It’s not much, but we’ve actually got our monthly fees covered, and are bringing in extra.  WITH MY IDEA.  ANNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNND I spent about 5 hours the other night working on a friend’s computer remotely, and while I didn’t completely fix it, it felt GOOOOOD after 8 years of not doing it to be working on a computer.  *NOTE: said friend had a virus; I found it, ran the scans to remove most of it, and Craig did the final removal while I was still sleeping, after he got home from work.  Mostly joint effort, but I was the one who stayed up until 2:30 am working on it. 

    I miss computer support.  Really, truly miss it.  I like providing it on my own terms, though, and not working for a corporation that has standards and policies and stupid shit like that.  Some of it makes a little sense, but really?  Not really.  I like knowing that I’m helping people *I know*.  That they’re truly grateful for my help!  And that I’m not over-charging them!

    See, I’m offering antivirus / spyware update and scan, operating system critical updates, and web browser updates – remotely.  You don’t have to be at your computer, and I can do it from home.  Once a month, I’ll do all this for my customers, for $20.  And they get a discount on other service calls.  Since the start of Christmas break and yesterday, we’ve taken 5 computers in for virus removal.  Craig has handled it all.  Every computer is still running, there were no operating system reloads, nothing horrible happened to the machine in the end.  They’re working!  Even two that we *for sure* thought were dead. 

    And because of all these virus-addlepated computers, I thought we could help prevent it.  And people want this service!  And I’m ecstatic that this is my idea because I didn’t think I had any left in my noggin!

    Soooo.  Maybe I’ll be extra-productive tomorrow.  Things feel good.  I will hopefully be selling some of my photo/cards through a friend’s website.  I may have found a job that I can do from home legitimately that will pay more than my last job did as a software asst. supervisor!  Perhaps the light at the end of a tunnel *isn’t* a train after all?

    Also, if you want more information, you can join our fan page.  You can pass it on to your friends.  And even if you don’t subscribe, if you refer a friend and they subscribe, we’ll give you 1 free hour of support OR one free month of maintenance.  

    http://www.facebook.com/business/dashboard/?ref=sb#/pages/Kansas-City-MO/Darker-Violet-Designs/48986898878

    So. 

Comments (2)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *