May 19, 2010

  • Wow, a whole lot of changes in the last day!  
    I had my regular 3-month checkup with my doctor yesterday.  On the way there, I pass a beauty school; I’ve been there before, when a family friend attended several years ago.  I’ve been looking for a day to get up to see her at her salon, but she’s a bit of a drive, and almost everyone knows I strongly dislike driving on the highway, and then there’s the whole bit with the kids – they won’t enjoy accompanying me anyway.  So I drive past this school, and think to myself that it would be great to get a hair cut and color finally, after waiting nearly two years, and I wonder if they have an opening?  And, if you know me at all, you know the “thinking about it” stage ended right there, and turned into the “find their number and make an appointment” stage.  So, after my appointment, I called, showed up there ten minutes later, and by noon had cut off over a foot of hair, then had blonde chunks put in.  You can see everything on my Facebook photo album.  When I got home, I colored my hair purple.  I didn’t realize how unlike myself I feel when my hair is my natural brown color, but WHEW all I can say is, it’s good to have me back.  Also, NOBODY knew.  I showed up to pick the kids up from school, and one mom, who has known me since first grade back in 1980 said she’d never seen my hair that short in her life!  My kids LOVE the purple, and are thrilled to show it off to their friends.  Their friends look at me like I’m crazy.  What’s new?  But I feel more like I’m supposed to feel.

    At the doctor’s office, I finally talked to him about my large amounts of stress and anxiety, and what that’s doing to me.  He suggested doing something for myself once in a while, and I rolled my eyes at him.  It would be great, but after so many years of not taking much care of me, I don’t know what it is I want to even do.  Classes aren’t a great option because of Craig’s wonky work schedule, and there’s the whole “I dislike driving at night” thing.  Shopping?  Bah.  I’d rather shop online; besides, that takes a little more money and it’s not like we need more crap.  Seriously.  I’m not a manicure/pedicure kind of girl for the most part…I like computers/technology and reading and chocolate and beer and photography and fire.  So.  But he also gave me a prescription for Zoloft and Xanax.  I’ve never been on anything like that ever in my life.  It’s frightening.  The Zoloft is for every day, Xanax is “as needed”.  I’ve taken my first dose of both.  The Xanax made me feel a little lightheaded and dizzy, and I slept forever!  I don’t notice much with the Zoloft, except my head is killing me.  I felt so much better after talking about it with my doctor, though.  Only Craig knows.  Well, and you, now.  I’ve gotten so frustrated with trying to talk in person with some people about what’s been going on in my head for the past several months that I’m just starting to shut down in that respect.  Craig figures that I put on such a strong outer face that people don’t realize I’m asking for help when I’m asking for help.  That doesn’t ever make me feel any better.  A cry for help is a cry for help, right?  But we’ll see how this helps me out.  Also, I’m losing weight very slowly, but losing.  My doctor said that I need to keep doing whatever it is I’m doing.  I’m doing nothing.  Seriously.  But it’s working, so don’t knock it, right?

    And it has been rainy and cold for a while, so we’re not getting outside much.  No big deal, really, until the other day.  THERE ARE TOO MANY MOTHERFUCKING ANTS ON THIS MOTHERFUCKING PLANE.  I came into the kitchen one morning to find the counter black and moving.  TEENY TINY SWEET ANTS.  I want you to die in a fire, ants, I really do.  They got into my sealed sugar container, for crying out loud!  They’ve never done that!  And they walked in my coffee mug!  Every time I look at them, I just want to lay down a line of fire.  I want to heat a pot of oil and just drop them in.  Oh ants, I don’t mind you outside.  But please, just stay outside!  

    Also, school is almost out.  I don’t know what I’m going to do about that.  Please pray for my kids.  I’m sure they’ll need it.  =)

     

Comments (6)

  • Love the hair!!!

    Hope the Zoloft helps.  I’m glad you talked to your doctor and I hope that you feel free to talk to me any time about any thing and know that I’ll listen and I’m very rarely judgemental so maybe that would be helpful. 

    I’m taking off a good bit this summer because I am sick of the car wash and babysitters cost too much and blah blah blah so we should plan on getting together a bunch this summer.  I was planning on watching my boss’s baby on Tuesdays & Wednesdays but I’ll have Mondays and Thursdays.  We’re a package deal on Saturdays of course.  The Studio Movie Grill is doing a matinee series with kids movies really cheap over the summer.  The libraries always do stuff.  We have a pool here and well hell my kids don’t mind your back yard jungle.  There are also a million nice parks in this town.  I really need a girl friend so if you can put up with me I can put up with you and we’ll just make the kids get along ;)  

    Oh and mint extract annoys the ants and they start going away, seriously it made a world of difference. 

  • @goldilocks_and_the_3_boys - 

    Becky, you hopefully know my thoughts on your first comment. Thanks. Just next time I come over, put on a bra for crying out loud. ;) I’m not so nervous about the Xanax, but I’m really terrified of the Zoloft. Craig took it years ago, right before we got married, and he turned into a zombie, and not the good kind. Of course, I feel like a zombie villain most days anyway, so just about anything should be a plus.

    Brandon will be in summer school through June, and we’ll continue with preschool throughout the summer for Melena, but other than that, we’re open. My parents have a pool, too, and a nice yard and cool, finished basement. We’ll spend some time there so I can still work through the summer. I thought about joining the YMCA, but really, I doubt I’d use it much. If I could get over my hating to drive anywhere on the highway, we would practically live with you, you know.

    Also. I don’t have mint extract, but I have dried mint leaves and mint flavoring. I have the ants trapped on the counter. Too bad they don’t have an Admiral Ackbar who could’ve warned them.

  • I’ve been taking zoloft for years and I promise, I’m not a zombie.  I rarely wear white bandages in public. Oh wait, that’s a mummy.  Anyway, it’s a good thing.  I take it for anger though. It keeps me from turning into a raging bitch.  As often.

  • If you get zombiesq ask for a lower dosage…the boys have summer school too three weeks in June.  I’m not afraid to drive so no biggie.  We got a small bottle of mint extract at the grocery store.  No promises on the bra though hehehehe

  • We squirt ants with 409.  It kills them.  Doesn’t make me feel real good about spraying it all over my house, though. 

  • I like to use the foamy soap dispenser stuff on the ants.  Soap kills ants quickly!  But this mint stuff sure is pissing them off. 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *